
A Newfoundland and Labrador woman has lost her challenge to the suspension of provincial income support after an increase in her Canada Pension Plan disability payments pushed her above the program’s assessed-needs threshold.
In Magee v. Income and Employment Support Appeal Board, 2026 NLSC 107, Justice Peter A. O’Flaherty of the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, General Division, dismissed both a statutory appeal and a broader judicial review on September 2, 2026. The judge upheld the appeal board’s decision and made no order for costs.
The monthly income-support payment Moira Magee lost was $17.23, not the $812 used to calculate her eligibility. The suspension also ended a benefit paying her municipal taxes. But the court did not find that she had permanently lost access to all drug or medical-travel assistance: separate programs might still provide benefits if she applied.
A pension increase crossed the eligibility threshold
Magee receives Canada Pension Plan disability benefits and had qualified for provincial income support in 2018. Officials assessed her monthly income-support requirement at $812, including individual benefits, dietary allowances and a fuel allowance.
That figure was not the amount the province paid her each month. CPP disability payments were treated as non-exempt income, deducted dollar for dollar from her assessed income-support entitlement.
In December 2023, Magee received $794.77 a month in CPP disability payments. Her provincial top-up was the remaining $17.23. Her CPP disability payment rose to $828.38 in January 2024, exceeding the $812 assessed requirement.
The province notified her on December 27, 2023, that her income support would be suspended effective January 1, 2024. These figures describe the historical calculation in Magee’s case, not current benefit rates or a universal eligibility threshold.
An internal review upheld the suspension in January 2024, and the Income and Employment Support Appeal Board dismissed her appeal the following month. Magee then appealed to the court, seeking reinstatement, back payments and an increase in her assessed needs sufficient to preserve eligibility.
She also brought a separate judicial review seeking broader relief over access to social programs. The two proceedings were heard together on May 29, 2025.
Broad social goals did not displace eligibility rules
The statutory appeal was limited to questions of law or mixed law and fact. Legal questions were reviewed for correctness; mixed questions required a clear error that affected the result.
Magee argued that the legislation had to be interpreted in light of its commitments to dignity, accessibility and helping people meet basic needs. In her view, removing support because of a pension increase defeated those purposes and placed her in an emergency.
O’Flaherty concluded that those principles had to be read alongside the legislation’s eligibility requirements and rate structure. The statute’s purpose was to facilitate support for eligible people, not to authorize assistance independently of those requirements. Its broad goals also included fiscal responsibility.
The board therefore could not set aside the income rules simply because continued assistance would better protect an individual’s dignity or access to services. It had correctly treated CPP disability payments as income that reduced Magee’s entitlement.
The judge also rejected the argument that emergency powers supplied a general way around the threshold. Those powers were limited to urgent circumstances, not an unrestricted authority to override eligibility rules whenever a recipient ceased to qualify.
Magee proposed increasing her dietary allowance enough to restore eligibility. But authority to approve necessary items of special need was not authority to increase an allowance merely to make an otherwise ineligible person eligible. The record contained no supporting evidence establishing entitlement to an additional dietary allowance. The board’s chair had recommended that she provide supporting medical evidence and apply again.
The province did not have to wait for the January payment
Magee argued that the suspension took effect too early because she did not receive the increased CPP disability payment until January 29, 2024. She relied on rules examining income received in the 30 days before an application.
The judge distinguished an initial application from a review of an existing recipient’s continuing eligibility. With satisfactory evidence of an upcoming income change, officials could make a prospective determination effective in the month the increased income would actually be received.
Waiting until the payment arrived would have created overpayments that the province would then have had to recover. The court upheld the January 1 effective date.
The court also rejected Magee’s argument that the board should have interpreted the legislation to protect her rights under section 7 of the Charter. She had not raised that argument before the board. In the circumstances of this case, the judge found no obligation under section 7 to provide the particular level or type of assistance she sought. The proceeding did not challenge the constitutional validity of the legislation as a whole.
An earlier dispute over a shelter allowance could not be reopened through the 2024 appeal. That issue had been resolved on internal review in 2019 without a further appeal. The judge also found no procedural unfairness: the older records were not appropriate to the issue before the board, and the hearing transcript showed that Magee had sufficient opportunity to make her submissions.
Tax assistance and health-related programs were different
Magee’s judicial review extended beyond the monthly top-up. She argued that the suspension affected municipal-tax assistance, prescription-drug coverage and medical-travel benefits, and sought an order requiring government bodies to coordinate adequate, stable access to services.
The court rejected the government’s preliminary argument that this was simply a duplicate proceeding. It raised separate issues and sought broader relief than the statutory appeal.
Nevertheless, the judicial review failed because Magee had not identified independent administrative decisions denying the additional benefits that the court could review. Her broader challenge was directed at the design and adequacy of the programs.
The record supported the loss of the municipal-tax payment when income-support eligibility ended. O’Flaherty acknowledged that this loss had a significant impact.
The evidence did not support the same conclusion about automatic termination of all pharmaceutical and medical-travel assistance. Although receiving income support could qualify Magee for certain benefits, the judge said she appeared potentially eligible through separate applications to those programs. The decision did not determine the outcome of any such application.
The court distinguished reviewing an identifiable administrative decision from redesigning social programs and their funding choices. On the record before it, the broader policy complaints were not matters the court could resolve through judicial review.
The result leaves the income-support suspension in place, without an order for reinstatement or back payments. It does not establish that every benefits decision is immune from review or decide Magee’s eligibility under the separate drug and medical-travel programs.



